About Sharjah, UAE

Sharjah is the third largest and third most populous city in the United Arab Emirates, forming part of the Dubai-Sharjah-Ajman metropolitan area. It is located along the southern coast of the Persian Gulf on the Arabian Peninsula. Sharjah is the capital of the emirate of the same name. The sale or consumption of alcoholic beverages is prohibited in the emirate of Sharjah without possession of an alcohol licence and alcohol is not served in Sharjah hotels, restaurants or other outlets due to the Muslim majority in the area. Sharjah is regarded as the cultural capital of the UAE. Landmarks: Rolla Square, Sharjah Fort, Gold Souq, Mahattah Fort, Heritage District, Sharjah National Park, Sharjah Aquarium, Al Noor Island, Wildlife Centers, Al Majaz Waterfront, Rain Room